Loading....

Facebook Social Engineering – You’re Getting “Had”

People, please keep an eye on what you click.  There are more and more scam links floating around on Facebook these days.  Consignment stores, if you’re using Facebook for your business, you need to make sure you know about this sort of stuff.  Especially if you have employees that access your Business page to post images, etc.  Here’s an example of one of the latest scams…

OMG - Fake Facebook Link
OMG - Fake Facebook Link

Chances are, if the post/link starts out with “OMG,” you might not want to click it.  Just sayin’.  If you’ve already clicked on the Facebook scam link from your Feed, go and delete the post right away.  Also, make sure your system is not infected as many of these links download Trojans and malware to your hard drive.  Lastly, since many of these links attempt to “phish” your username and password from you, it might not be a bad idea to change your Facebook password right away.

We’re doing our best to help as many consignment stores as possible.  Facebook and Twitter have their benefits, but you should know what’s out there before you or your employees run into one of these scams.

Bogus Facebook App – “See Your Future”

There’s a new – and bogus – Facebook App floating through the Feed.  It claims to let you “See what your face will look like in 20 years!”  Here’s what it looks like within the Facebook Feed…

Bogus Facebook App
Bogus Facebook App

Here are the first things that tipped me off:

  • It starts out with “omg”
  • The link is actually masked using the bit.ly URL shortening service.  While bit.ly isn’t bad (it’s actually a fantastic service!), combined with the “omg” and the following, it doesn’t look good.

The apps wants complete access to your contacts, Facebook Pages (e.g. your Business page), to post to your Wall and here’s the doozy – it wants access to Facebook Chat…

Facebook App Permissions
Facebook App Permissions

If you installed this app (or if you think you did), you should remove this app right away.  In Facebook, head to Account > Privacy Settings > Apps and Websites > Edit Your Settings.  Click Remove unwanted or spammy apps

Remove Unwanted or Spammy Apps
Remove Unwanted or Spammy Apps

Find the See Your Future app and click the X to the right of it…

Uninstall Facebook App
Uninstall Facebook App

This is also a good opportunity to inspect the rest of the apps you have installed.  See which ones you really need.  If you don’t need it, uninstall it.  Really the only apps you would need would be obvious – e.g. HootSuite, Twitter, etc.

If you have any questions, feel free to comment below!

Back To Top